Dark times

It has been a while since I have written anything. I could blame my busy life, as I am in the middle of a heavy-duty systematic review for my thesis, but also mid-through clinical articles for my work, and trying to set up a research project to investigate clients’ experiences attending group therapy. Anyhow, I could just justify my absence with all my busyness, but really I haven’t felt very creative lately… perhaps even slightly empty to write anything or even take photos worth sharing. Maybe it’s the winter blues, or just me, but my camera hasn’t left its bag for a few weeks.

Then today I was browsing my photo archive and found a photo that I had forgotten completely in my memory drive. It was taken on a Saturday, as I went out for a walk, as weekends are usually the only opportunity I can have time for myself (and my friends) to talk and reflect about life and the current problems the world is facing: from economic misery to antibiotic-resistant bacteria; from religious unrest to the grim stories of child abuse in the news. The weather was not particularly bad that day, it was actually sunny, but in a matter of minutes a dark cloud covered the entire sky as if the world was going to end as prelude to the hundreds of prophecies that 2012 is facing a massive shift of some sort. I am not really into all that new-age/old-age dogma, so for now I just live life and can’t be bothered with worrying myself sick with things to come or things past. Some people worry too much about things like these, no wonder they are depressed and anxious all the time, some even hopeless that this is all that life has to offer, often forgetting that life offers nothing – we make life and we offer ourselves the opportunity for happiness. If we wait for the miracle chance in life, then many of us, perhaps even 99.9% of all humans will be waiting their entire life waiting for something that will never come, so from an early age I have learnt – if I want something I will have to work for it, and work hard.

Coming back to the photo, as I often go on tangents, I then noticed this magnificent opportunity to take a photo of a structure with an angel on top, which caught my attention. I mean, the structure itself is nothing amazing as there are hundreds of similar ones in this country and all over the world. This particular one is homage to Queen Victoria of the Great Britain, and on top of the ‘mausoleum’ there are lots of angels as if announcing and imposing her majesty to the world. What I found amazing was the contrast between the darkened angelic figurine against the ecliptic sun, and the dramatic impact that made on my camera, thus making me feel so excited to take this photo. My friends thought I was mad, as I hovered around the statues waiting for the right opportunity to take the photo as the sun got darker and the scene got even more dramatic. I then took a few photos as I moved around, like a paparazzi hounding a celebrity, but this one really interprets my intentions for that photo shoot.

I made no changes to the photo neither any Photoshop alterations. This photo is exactly at it came out of the camera. I prefer my photos real, whether they seem good or badly taken, as a record to all that there are things around us worth photographing and admiring. Just because life also happens outside our minds!

